Different Units For Gem Weights & Measurements

Different Scale Units



Grams (g):

  • Grams are the traditional unit of measurement used in the majority of weighing tasks. Commonly used in all industries for weighing in small increments.
  • 1 gram = 1000 milligrams.
  • Used in weighing metals.


Carat (ct) vs Karat (kt):

  • A metric “carat” is defined as 200 milligrams. Each carat is subdivided into 100 ‘points.’ This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place.
  • Karat is a unit of measurement used when weighing jewellery, precious metals and Carat  is for gemstones and diamonds.
  • All else being equal, diamond price increases with diamond carat weight because larger diamonds are rarer and more desirable.
  • Used for weighing precious & semi-precious.


Pennyweight (dwt):

  • The troy weight units are used to measure weights of precious metals, gemstones, and powder.
  • One pennyweight contains approximately 7.9 karats.
  • Used for weighing precious metals.


Ounces (oz): 

  • An Ounce is a unit of measurement used in the Imperial system. Ounces remain popular as a weighing unit in the UK for cooking and in food recipes.

Grain (gn):

  • One grain is equal to exactly 64,79891mg & 1g is equal to about 15,43236gn.
  • The grain was the earliest mass unit, & it’s also part of the Troy, Avoirdupois, & Apothecaries’ weight systems.
  • The grain is used to measure the mass of bullets, gold foil used in dentistry & other propellants.